WAIFC Young Academic Award 2023

The global financial sector continues to evolve rapidly with new technologies enabling the digitization of money, innovative trends involving artificial intelligence and DLT, and a greater focus on financing SMEs and financial inclusion.  We see a long-term transition toward a sustainable financial industry, while there is a need to support the economic recovery from the pandemic in the short term.

We invite young academics to submit papers or essays addressing one of the following topics:

  1. The future of financial literacy and education in International Financial Centers (IFCs), and how IFCs can support people of all ages.
  2. How do the financial centers support talent development and re-skilling, particularly regarding sustainability and fintech? How can the financial sector remain an attractive employer for young talent?
  3. The role of IFCs in promoting environmental, social, and governance (ESG) practices in finance.
  4. The role of IFCs in financing the circular economy.
  5. How can IFCs foster gender diversity in the financial industry?
  6. What role can IFCs play in promoting financial inclusion and accessibility?

The WAIFC Young Academic Award 2023 winners were unveiled in a grand ceremony held at the LSEG New York office in Wall Street following the FinCity.Tokyo Forum organized by our member FinCity.Tokyo. The event was a culmination of hard work, dedication, and exceptional research skills showcased by young academics from around the world.

The ceremony was gracefully introduced by our Chairman, Keiichi Aritomo, and our Managing Director, Jochen Biedermann. Their speeches highlighted the importance of fostering young talent and the role of academic research in shaping the future of finance.

The Chair of the Jury, Akshu S Campbell-Holt, took the stage to present the papers of the winners, providing insights into their research and the impact it has on the academic and professional world. Following this, Nancy Murphy, the Award project manager, revealed the order of the winners, adding to the anticipation and excitement in the room.

We are thrilled to announce the winners of the WAIFC YAA Award 2023:

Marta Kotlarska - First Place

Marta Red

Ved Beloskar - Second Place

Ved Red

Lionel Mok - Third Place

Lionel Red

Each of these winners has demonstrated exceptional research skills, contributing papers of the highest quality. Their work stood out among numerous submissions, showcasing their dedication and expertise in their respective fields.

The WAIFC extends its heartfelt congratulations to Marta, Ved, and Lionel for their outstanding achievements. We are proud to have such talented individuals as part of our YAA winners, and we look forward to seeing the impact of their work in the years to come.

In the coming weeks, we will be sharing exclusive interviews with the winners, delving into their research, their journey, and their future aspirations. Please follow us to gain insights into the minds of these brilliant young academics.

We would like to thank our Jury for their remarkable work. 

Once again, congratulations to the winners of the WAIFC YAA Award 2023. Your hard work has set a high standard for future participants.

Read more about the winners and their research

هذا الموقع يستخدم الكوكيز. من خلال الاستمرار في استخدام الموقع ، فإنك توافق على استخدام ملفات تعريف الارتباط.
معلومات اكثر